Manly Sea Eagles vs Sydney Roosters, rainbow jersey, jersey controversy, result, SuperCoach scores, video, Daly Cherry-Evans, James Tedesco

The Roosters have escaped with a 20-10 win over a seriously depleted Manly outfit at 4 Pines Park.

There were fears the Roosters would put a cricket score on Manly given seven key players had stood down due to personal views over the club’s rainbow-detailed ‘Everyone in League’ jersey.

Daniel Tupou crossed untouched in the eighth minute, before a James Tedesco grubber set up Nat Butcher in the 20th minute for the Roosters’ second try of the night.

Manly got on the board through Andrew Davey, but the Roosters hit back two minutes later with star center Joey Manu burrowing over.

Debutant Alfred Smalley crossed in the corner for Manly but it was too little, too late for a side that Fox League’s Greg Alexander dubbed “courageous” for putting up a fight after the week it was.

Although the Roosters got the two points there’s a couple of concerns for coach Trent Robinson — Lindsay Collins’ concussion and the team’s 60 per cent completion rate.

MATCH CENTERS: Sea Eagles vs Roosters live score, video, stats

Stream every game of every round of the 2022 NRL Telstra Premiership Season Live & Ad-Break Free During Play on Kayo. New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >


Debutant Alfred Smalley crossed in the corner in a well-deserved moment for a man who was rushed into the line-up.


Manly fullback Reuben Garrick let the kick-off bounce and the ball landed back in the Roosters’ hands. Four plays later Joey Manu burrowed over to extend the Roosters’ lead.


Lindsay Collins suffered a sickening head knock and was taken from the field in a huge blow for the Roosters prop who was in his return game from a concussion suffered in Origin.

“That’s worrying, for a player that’s only returning this round because of concussion,” Greg Alexander said.

Immediately after, Manly got on the board through Andrew Davey, who crossed off a perfectly-timed pass from Daly Cherry-Evans.


The Roosters extended their lead through Nat Butcher, who crossed off a left foot grubber from skipper James Tedesco.


Tryscoring machine Daniel Tupou crossed untouched to extend the Roosters’ lead. It came after Sam Walker slotted a penalty goal after Manly debutant Alfred Smalley collected Sam Verrill’s high.


The Manly Sea Eagles will don a rainbow-detailed ‘Everyone in League’ jersey as they host the Sydney Roosters in a must-win clash with finals just around the corner.

Manly will hope to leave a controversial few days behind them when they run out onto 4 Pines Park after seven players stood down from the game due to personal beliefs, leaving coach Des Hasler scrambling to fill the holes.

Jason Saab, Christian Tuipulotu, Tolu Koula, Josh Aloiai, Haumole Olakau’atu, Toafofa Sipley and Josh Schuster will miss the game.

Among the new faces in the side are Pio Seci, Alfred Smalley and Zac Fulton, who will all make their NRL debuts.

Ethan Bullemor will start in the second row, while Morgan Boyle returns to play his first NRL game of the season.

James Segeyaro has also landed a spot on the bench in what will be his first NRL game since 2019.

In a timely boost, Jake Trbojevic, Lachlan Croker and Andrew Davey also return from Covid-19 protocols.

Hasler has turned to his leaders and promoted Martin Taupau to the starting side in the only late change.

For the Roosters, star center Joey Manu returns, which sees Drew Hutchison shift back to the bench. Lindsay Collins is also back from a head knock, forcing Matt Lodge to the bench.

With the Roosters sitting eighth and Manly sitting ninth but both teams on 20 competition points, this is a crucial game to keep their finals hopes alive.

Sea Eagles team: 1. Reuben Garrick 2. Pio Seci 3. Morgan Harper 4. Dylan Walker 5. Alfred Smalley 6. Kieran Foran 7. Daly Cherry-Evans 8. Taniela Paseka 9. Lachlan Croker 16. Martin Taupau 11. Ethan Bullemor 12. Andrew Davey 13. Jake Trbojevic 10. Kurt De Luis 14. James Segeyaro 17. Morgan Boyle 18. Zac Fulton. Replacement player: 19. Kaeo Weekes

Rooster’s team: 1. James Tedesco 2. Daniel Tupou 3. Paul Momirovski 4. Joseph Manu 5. Joseph Suaalii 6. Luke Keary 7. Sam Walker 8. Jared Waerea-Hargreaves 9. Sam Verrills 10. Lindsay Collins 11. Angus Crichton 12. Nat Butcher 13. Victor Radley 14. Connor Watson 15. Egan Butcher 16. Drew Hutchison 17. Matthew Lodge. Replacement player: 18. Adam Keighran

Get all the latest NRL news, highlights and analysis delivered straight to your inbox with Fox Sports Sportmail. Sign up now!!

Re-live the action live in our blog below. If you can’t see it, click here.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.