Hatched scores Media Agency of the Year as Thinkerbell wins Full Service second year in a row

The 2022 Mumbrella Awards ended at Royal Randwick, with Hatched winning Media Agency of the Year for the first time and Thinkerbell taking home Full Service Agency of the Year for the second time in a row.

Thinkerbell also won the Independent Agency of the Year category, in which it was highly commended (HC) in 2021.

The awards ceremony was hosted by writer and comedian Paul McDermott, as over 30 awards were handed out to the best talent and innovators across Australia and New Zealand’s marketing, advertising, media, production, PR and communications industries.

Howatson+Company received a nod as Emerging Agency of the Year, while its Rejected Ales campaign for Matilda Bay was crowned the Mumbrella Award for Insight.


The rest of the Agency of the Year categories were split between Thrive PR (PR), AKQA (Specialist), Traffic (Promo or Experiential) and The Monkeys, part of Accenture Song (Creative).

72andSunny’s work Helping You Help Themfor Google earned it the Ad Campaign of the Year award. The campaign was showcased in 2021 to celebrate community helpfulness. For TV Ad of the Year, Special’s Christmas campaign for Optus, ‘Yule slide ‘, received the crown.

Other brands and agencies winning the night include Half Dome, PHD Media, CHEP Network, Tourism Noosa, Broadsheet and more.

See the full list of winners below:

Winner: Remove The Barrier – Great Barrier Reef Foundation with Arcadia, Only Everything, We Are Different

  • Mumbrella Award for Bravery

Winner: NAB JAB – Six Black Pens & TBWA with Mindshare for NAB

  • Mumbrella Award for Culture

Winner: Half Dome

  • Mumbrella Award for Insight

Winner: Rejected Ales – Howatson+Company for Matilda Bay

  • Mumbrella Award for Innovation

Winner: The Rocket Stove – FINCH/Creatable

  • Mumbrella Award for Data – Driven Marketing

Winner: Real-Time Routes – PHD Media for Virgin Australia

HC: realestate.com.au Property Owner Track Acquisition – REA Group

  • Mumbrella Award for Collaboration

Winner: Performance Enhancing Music – CHEP Network with Spotify, Resonance Sonic Branding for Samsung Electronics Australia

  • Mumbrella Award for Sustainable Practices

Winner: Tourism Noosa Sustainability Programs – Tourism Noosa

  • Marketing Team of the Year

Winner: Uber

HC: Optus

Winner: The Trade Desk ANZ

  • Marketing Technology Company of the Year

Winner: Tracksuit

  • Content Marketing Strategy of the Year

Winner: Crime Interrupted – Host/Havas for Australian Federal Police

  • Best Use of User Experience

Winner: Planet Puberty – GHO Sydney for Family Planning NSW

  • Best Use of Real-Time Marketing

Winner: McGowan Sofa Bed – The Royals for Koala

HC: Federal Budget 2021 – Six Black Pens with NAB, Mindshare for NAB

  • Under-30 Achiever of the Year

Winner: Grace Watkins, CEO & Co-founder, Click Management

HC: Camille Gray, Strategy Director, Initiative Australia

HC: Kate Holland, Marketing Manager, UnLtd/MOOD

  • Industry Leader of the Year

Winner: Melissa Fein, CEO, Initiative Australia

HC: Nick Shelton, Director & Publisher, Broadsheet Media

  • Production Company of the Year

Winner: Mushroom Creative House

  • Best Use of Experiential Marketing

Winner: KFC Big Bucket – Prism Sport + Entertainment with Mediacom, Ogilvy, OPR, Geometry, Stanhaz Events, NRL for KFC (Yum)

  • Pro Bono Campaign of the Year

Winner: Donation Dollar – Saatchi & Saatchi for Royal Australian Mint

Winner: Yuleglide – Special with Finch, Flux and Universal McCann for Optus

No winner representative was present at the ceremony

  • Media Campaign of the Year

Winner: Origin SnackDown – HERO with UM, Channel 9 for Menulog

HC: Crime Interrupted – Host/Havas for Australian Federal Police

Winner: Helping You Help Them – 72andSunny ANZ with Finch, Thirteen & Co, Otis, Vandal, Atticus & PHD for Google Australia

HC: One House to Save Many – Leo Burnett Australia with CSIRO, James Cook University, Room 11 Architects, The Glue Society, OMD. for Suncorp Group

Winner: Broadsheet Media

HC: Man of Many

  • Full Service Agency of the Year

Winner: Thinkerbell

Winner: Thrive PR

HC: The student

  • Specialist Agency of the Year

Winner: AKQA

HC: Orchard

HC: Shadowboxers

  • Emerging Agency of the Year

Winner: Howatson+Company

HC: Campfire x

  • Promo or Experiential Agency of the Year

Winner: Traffic

  • Independent Agency of the Year

Winner: Thinkerbell

HC: Special

Winner: Hatched

HC: Initiative

  • Creative Agency of the Year

Winner: The Monkeys, part of Accenture Song

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.